Open for tours on weekends from Memorial Day to Labor Day. The Indian Spring Hotel was built in 1823 as an Inn by Chief William McIntosh and his cousin, Joel Bailey, who also operated it. In 1825, a two-story addition was built. The addition included the Tavern known as the Treaty Room and a large ballroom above it.
The hotel is unique and extremely significant to the history of the State of Georgia. It is the only known ante-bellum mineral springs hotel in Georgia still standing. It's history yields much data on the culture, society, and architecture of Georgia throughout the 19th century. The Federal style architecture, hand-planed wide boards, wooden pegs, and handmade bricks clearly indicate an early 19th century construction date. The foundation was made of native stone. The alcove in the wall, where the treaty was signed remains intact.
Indians had been coming to the Spring for many decades prior to 1800. They believed in the medical qualities of the water. No permanent structures were built near the waters due to the fear that crying children and talking women would scare the "healing spirits" away from the waters. However, William McIntosh built a cabin here in 1800.